top of page

Unearth Your Inner Creative

Happy New Year! It is finally 2021. For this year, one of my many goals is to be more creative. Creative in my work, thoughts, and activities that I engage with. Many of us believe we are creative people. We put that on our resume's or put that as a personality trait. But, are we? I am guilty of putting creativity on my resume. But, what is creativity? It seems like such a simple task to do, yet many of us struggle with being creative.


Merriam Webster Definition of Creativity

"Given to creating the creative impulse a creative genius. 2: having the quality of something created rather than imitated."


I think the key takeaway here is the creation and not imitation. It is easy for us to be inspired by other work and try to create something similar. The part that becomes difficult is putting your thoughts into it. Your take, interpretation of what is presented. Everyone gets inspiration from someone else. Even the greats(Van Gogh, Versace, etc.) However, they are the greats because they made their technique from that inspiration.


I took it upon myself a few days before the New year to find ways to give myself the mental stimulation to be more creative and thoughtful for 2021. These techniques are not the only ways to enhance your creativity however, it is a good place to start.



Surround yourself in creative spaces


Due to Covid-19, going out to public spaces is a little difficult However, you can make your own creative space in your own home. You just have to make the right environment for you. Do this by adding prints, pictures, sketches that you have drawn in your space, candles, music, have a notebook ready to go. Add more books that will make you feel good or productive.

I am currently reading "52 Small Steps To Happiness" by Rachel Kelly. A great little book with tips, positive ideas to read that can help you throughout the year. The book is separated by seasons (Spring, Summer, Autumn, and Winter.)

Make the space you choose to feel good and happy. It should not feel like a chore and something for you to look forward to.

I think you should also consider engaging in conversations with people that you find creative. Ask them what inspires them, their philosophy, etc. The two of you may have different inspirations but, I think it is insightful to learn about other creatives processes.



Make a habit of getting up every morning and write.


It can be about anything. I have started writing to get all the thoughts that I have in my head in the morning. Once I woke up with a song lyric from my dream. "Where does the good go." It was stuck in my head all day and took up a lot of space in my head. I should have written it down.

Writing can also provide you with an early morning reflection or intention for the day.

Once you write out the thoughts in your head early in the morning, it allows you to have more meaningful thoughts.



Find Adventure. Alone


I know it's fun doing things with your friends and going out, doing things and having new experiences. By all means, do not stop doing that (Covid safe y'all!) However, I think it's important to get into the habit of doing things alone. This allows you to be introspective in a social situation. You are with your thoughts and feelings and you have to reflect on what you saw, have your own opinion, or it can just create a moment of spontaneity in your life. Just see what happens and look for the thing(s) that seem creative to you at that moment. However, if you're like me, I tend to forget that I am going to do something or feel too lazy. Scheduling becomes important. Make it like an assignment or meeting you have to do at a certain time. Put it in your calendar with an alarm to make sure you do it.



Teach yourself a skill


It can be as simple as learning how to braid your hair, making jewelry, learning a language, learn to knit. It does not have to be complicated. You can start small. You will get a sense of accomplishment and, gives you the motivation to start learning a new skill or master the one you are learning.


Pause that Netflix Subscription....or at least watch less.


I think the main reason there was a lack of creativity on my part this past year was due to Netflix. I rewatched one of my favorite tv shows at least seven times(but, it was covid time so it's fine.) However, most of the time that I dedicated to Netflix could be shortened in half. Instead, dedicate the hour that you would use to watch Netflix, do something creative. From a mini-dance tutorial on youtube, listen to an inspiring ted talk, trying out a new recipe, go outside, sketch. Set the time to do the thing you've been meaning to do.



Don't be afraid of failing


This is a pretty common phrase that you hear everywhere but, it is so true! Whenever I go into a job interview or try something new I always think to myself, "This is not going to kill me. I am not going to die. Just try."


Many of us are so afraid of failure that you would rather not try the thing we want to do because we think we are going to fail. You could also be thinking that you're going to do horribly at your chosen activity and then you'd do (A.K.A, the self-fulling prophecy.)


You have to be willing to put yourself out there to improve. A professor once told me, "if you feel like you're out of place, act as if you belong there, even if you're with Obama" I think a similar notion can be taken when approaching something new. Act like you've done this before and don't be afraid to fail. Go out and write your book, paint, dance, create short films, learn to code, etc. Have fun, enjoy the process, and if you fail or make a mistake, it's alright, it's not like you're going to die.



Get Into Meditation


Now, I've known it would be a good idea to start meditating for the longest but, I recently only started doing this because of Harry Styles (LMAO .) In my opinion, Harry Styles is one of the most creative people I know (not personally.) However, according to research done by Zabela Lebuda, Darya L. Zabelina, Maciej Karwowski(2016), show "mindfulness especially ones based on open-monitoring meditation, may be beneficial for creative abilities as well as for creative self-concept."

Find the study here:

There are limitations to mediation as a means for creativity but, it certainly helps. It is also a good way to de-stress your everyday life.



Change your Mindset


Many of us get discouraged when we don't automatically see results. It could take weeks or months to build a new skill, way of thinking, or living. However, if you push through you'll eventually get to a point where you see the hard work that you've put in, flourish. Our mind is very powerful. Like I mentioned above we have to use the self-fulling prophecy to our advantage. Your mind is malleable, meaning it can be changed. If you change your thoughts from "I can't do this" to " I can get better" or something similar to that notion your mind will eventually start to believe it. Resulting in you being able to improve the skill or habit you are working to change or build.


“We don’t see things as they are, we see them as we are.”

- Anais Nin


When living a creative life, the meaning of things comes from your interpretation of the world around you. There is no correct way to interpret life.


The most important takeaway is to take the initiative. Set time each day to add a little bit of creativity to your life. From 5 minutes to an hour or more. There are many ways to interact with our surroundings and find something to be curious about. I challenge you all to take these first steps to unearth your inner creativity.



- Mayra

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page