top of page

My thoughts about Harry Styles on Vogue

Updated: Nov 25, 2020

A short word.....



First of all, Woah!

Harry, you are a gorgeous human being. I don't care what anybody says, Harry definitely can pull off a dress. He would look good in a potato sack honestly. I don't keep up with a Vogue unless someone I like is on the cover. I was very surprised to know that Harry Styles is the first man to be on the cover of Vogue. Yasss, go Harry!





However, I would like to address the fact that I don't think it should have been a white cis man on the cover. This is not Harry's fault at all, and I am not judging Harry. I love the man. I am also glad that our society has been able to progress a bit for this to be able to happen. However, we have to thank trans femmes of color for leading the way and opening the doors for this. They do this all the time and do not receive any praise. By placing a white man in front of this worldwide magazine cover, it can start a narrative that this is the face of gender-neutral fashion and, it will negate the struggle of many trans femme women of color who have been thrown in prison and assaulted for this.


Next, this "debate" about how a man needs to be "manly" and a woman "feminine" I think it's completely BS. Honestly, it's one of those things that are social constructs. Something that, as a society, have accepted as the "right" way to live. I am a firm believer in letting people wear what they want to wear. Leave people be and mind your business if you don't like it.


AS AOC said, " People are mad at it because some folks are very sensitive to examining and exploring gender roles in society (...) what is the point in creating anything if they don't make people think? Or feel? Or reflect?"



So please Candace Owens and others who feel the need to hate on someone because of what they choose to wear. Read the room!


TPWK

Mayra


Support and Donate

Trans Women of Color Collective Here.

Transcend Charlotte Here

Charlotte Pride Here



Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page